PR This page contains affiliate links, including Rakuten Travel. How we earn money
Which ryokan in Lake Kawaguchiko have a private onsen?
We have verified 15 properties in Lake Kawaguchiko, Yamanashi, where you can bathe privately. Of these, 10 sell rooms with their own open-air bath (1 in every room) and 13 have private kashikiri baths. Notable options include Kawaguchiko Onsenji Yumedono, La Vista Fujikawaguchiko and Konanso. Facts come from official websites, last checked 18 October 2026.
Last verified · How we verify · Open data
The lake's ryokan and onsen hotels line the shore, and the selling point here is the view: a room or private bath that faces Mt Fuji across the lake. On clear winter mornings the mountain is at its sharpest; in summer it often hides behind cloud by mid-morning.
Inns here range from large lakeside hotels to small family-run ryokan. If a Fuji view matters to you, check which side of the building the bath faces, because rooms facing away from the lake are usually cheaper for a reason.
What our verified data shows for private onsen in Lake Kawaguchiko
We have checked the official websites of 15 properties in Lake Kawaguchiko. 10 of them (about 67%) sell rooms with a private open-air bath, and 1 says every room has one. 13 have private kashikiri baths and 3 charge a fee. Where a fee is stated, it ranges from ¥1,650 to ¥3,300. For booking, 3 take advance reservations, 1 books private baths at check-in and 1 is first-come, first-served; the rest don't say. None explicitly state that tattoos are allowed, while 1 says tattoos are not allowed in the shared baths.
| Feature | Properties | Examples |
|---|---|---|
| Rooms with a private open-air bath | 10 | Kawaguchiko Onsenji Yumedono, Konanso and Oike Hotel |
| Every room has an open-air bath | 1 | Kawaguchiko Onsenji Yumedono |
| Private kashikiri baths | 13 | La Vista Fujikawaguchiko, Konanso and Oike Hotel |
| Paid private baths | 3 | Toki Yuyu Raku Yu, Wakakusa No Yado Maruei and Kasui Niwa Oya |
| Cover rule for tattoos mentioned | 1 | Wakakusa No Yado Maruei |
| Children welcome | 6 | Oike Hotel, Wakakusa No Yado Maruei and Fuji Lake Hotel |
| In-room dining offered | 3 | Konanso, Wakakusa No Yado Maruei and Fuji Lake Hotel |
| Mt Fuji view confirmed | 11 | La Vista Fujikawaguchiko, Konanso and Wakakusa No Yado Maruei |
Notable properties in Lake Kawaguchiko
- Open-air bath in every room: Kawaguchiko Onsenji Yumedono.
- Most private baths: La Vista Fujikawaguchiko (4), followed by Konanso (3).
- Mt Fuji views confirmed: La Vista Fujikawaguchiko, Konanso and Wakakusa No Yado Maruei.
Counts come from each property's official website; anything not stated is left out. Policies change, so confirm before booking.
Compare 15 ryokan with private baths in Lake Kawaguchiko
Showing 15 of 15 properties. Click a column heading to sort. "Not stated" means the official website doesn't say, so we haven't assumed anything.
| Property | In-room open-air bath | Private baths | Fee | Booking | Water | Tattoo (private) | Compare prices | Rakuten Travel (lowest rate) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kawaguchiko Onsenji Yumedono河口湖温泉寺 夢殿 | All rooms | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | from ¥45,100PR |
| Fuji Lake Hotel富士レークホテル | Some rooms | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | from ¥20,900PR |
| Hotel Asafujiホテルあさふじ | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | Rakuten TravelPR |
| Hotel Koryuホテル湖龍 | Some rooms | Yes | Not stated | Book a slot | Not stated | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | from ¥10,197PR |
| Kasui Niwa Oya花水庭おおや | Some rooms | Yes | 3,300 | Book a slot | Not stated | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | from ¥17,600PR |
| Konanso湖南荘 | Some rooms | 3 baths | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | from ¥30,800PR |
| La Vista Fujikawaguchikoラビスタ富士河口湖 | Not stated | 4 baths | Not stated | First come | Not stated | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | from ¥32,670PR |
| Lakeland Hotel Mizunosatoレイクランドホテルみづのさと | Some rooms | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | from ¥17,600PR |
| Mizno Hotel湖のホテル | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | from ¥17,050PR |
| Oike Hotel大池ホテル | Some rooms | 2 baths | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | from ¥13,000PR |
| Shuhokaku Kogetsu秀峰閣 湖月 | Some rooms | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | from ¥27,500PR |
| The Kukuna | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | from ¥25,300PR |
| Toki Yuyu Raku Yu時悠々楽游 | Not stated | 2 baths | 3,300 | Book a slot | Not stated | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | Rakuten TravelPR |
| Wakakusa No Yado Maruei若草の宿 丸栄 | Some rooms | 1 bath | 1,650 | On arrival | Not stated | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | from ¥31,350PR |
| Kozantei Ubuya湖山亭うぶや | Some rooms | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | Rakuten TravelPR |
PR Rakuten Travel prices are Rakuten's lowest-rate estimates per room per night for the cheapest plan (which may be for one guest without meals), including tax and service charge, as of . Rooms with their own bath usually cost more. Supported by Rakuten Developers
Compare-price links go to Agoda, Trip.com, Booking.com and Rakuten Travel. We may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you; it never affects which facts we show. Details.
How do I get to Lake Kawaguchiko?
Highway buses run from Shinjuku Expressway Bus Terminal to Kawaguchiko Station in about 2 hours. JR's Fuji Excursion limited express runs direct from Shinjuku in a similar time.
Tips for a private soak in Lake Kawaguchiko
- Mt Fuji is most often visible from late autumn to early spring, and in the early morning.
- Book a room or private bath that faces the lake if the view is the point of the trip.
Kawaguchiko private onsen with a Fuji view
If the view is the point, compare our Kawaguchiko Fuji-view list and check that the room or private bath faces the lake. Weather decides the rest, so stay for a sunrise. For other Fuji-view areas see Fuji-view ryokan.
Narrow it down
Ryokan with Mt Fuji views and a private onsen in Lake Kawaguchiko
Related private onsen guides
Frequently asked questions
Which side of Lake Kawaguchiko has Mt Fuji views?
The north shore looks south across the lake towards Mt Fuji, which is why many of the view-focused inns are there.
How do I get to Kawaguchiko from Tokyo?
Direct highway buses from Shinjuku take about 2 hours, and the Fuji Excursion train runs direct from Shinjuku in a similar time.
Which Kawaguchiko ryokan have a private bath with a Fuji view?
See the Fuji-view list linked on this page; each property shows what its website says about views and baths.
Is Kawaguchiko good for a one-night trip from Tokyo?
Yes, it is about 2 hours by highway bus or the Fuji Excursion train.
Which ryokan in Lake Kawaguchiko have a private open-air bath in the room?
Of the properties we checked, 10 sell rooms with their own open-air bath, including Wakakusa No Yado Maruei, Kasui Niwa Oya, Fuji Lake Hotel, Konanso and Oike Hotel. At Kawaguchiko Onsenji Yumedono, the website says every room has one.
Which ryokan in Lake Kawaguchiko have private kashikiri baths?
13 properties mention private (kashikiri) baths, for example Wakakusa No Yado Maruei, Kasui Niwa Oya, Fuji Lake Hotel, Toki Yuyu Raku Yu and Konanso.
How do you check the facts for Lake Kawaguchiko?
We read each property's official website (or official onsen-town listing) and record only what it states, with a link to the page. Anything not stated is shown as not confirmed. The Lake Kawaguchiko listings were last checked on 18 October 2026.
More onsen towns nearby
Hakone · Atami · Shuzenji · West Izu (Toi, Heda & Dogashima)
Last verified 18 October 2026. Facts come from each property's official website; see how we verify.
