PR This page contains affiliate links, including Rakuten Travel. How we earn money
Which ryokan in Shuzenji have a private onsen?
We have verified 7 properties in Shuzenji, Shizuoka, where you can bathe privately. Of these, 3 sell rooms with their own open-air bath and 5 have private kashikiri baths, 2 free for guests. Notable options include Kikuya, Breezbay Shuzenji Hotel and Mizu-no-sato Maru-kyu Hotel. Facts come from official websites, last checked 17 October 2026.
Last verified · How we verify · Open data
The village is compact enough to walk end to end, with the Katsura river running through the middle and ryokan on both banks. It has a more traditional, slower feel than the coastal resorts, and some of the inns here are among the most refined in Izu.
Many properties pair a classic Japanese room with a private open-air bath, and a few have rented-out family baths in the garden.
What our verified data shows for private onsen in Shuzenji
We have checked the official websites of 7 properties in Shuzenji. 3 of them (about 43%) sell rooms with a private open-air bath. 5 have private kashikiri baths; 2 say they are free for guests and 1 charges a fee. One property states a fee of ¥2,000. For booking, 1 takes advance reservations and 1 books private baths at check-in; the rest don't say. 4 mention free-flowing (kakenagashi) spring water. None explicitly state that tattoos are allowed, while 1 says tattoos are not allowed in the shared baths.
| Feature | Properties | Examples |
|---|---|---|
| Rooms with a private open-air bath | 3 | Kikuya, Kizuna and Yagyu-no-Sho |
| Private kashikiri baths | 5 | Kikuya, Mizu-no-sato Maru-kyu Hotel and Breezbay Shuzenji Hotel |
| Free private baths | 2 | Kikuya and Breezbay Shuzenji Hotel |
| Paid private baths | 1 | Sora Togetuso Kinryu |
| Free-flowing spring water | 4 | Kikuya, Mizu-no-sato Maru-kyu Hotel and Goyokan |
| Cover rule for tattoos mentioned | 1 | Breezbay Shuzenji Hotel |
| Children welcome | 1 | Breezbay Shuzenji Hotel |
| In-room dining offered | 2 | Mizu-no-sato Maru-kyu Hotel and Kizuna |
Notable properties in Shuzenji
- Most private baths: Kikuya (4), followed by Mizu-no-sato Maru-kyu Hotel (1).
- Private baths free for guests: Kikuya and Breezbay Shuzenji Hotel.
Counts come from each property's official website; anything not stated is left out. Policies change, so confirm before booking.
Compare 7 ryokan with private baths in Shuzenji
Showing 7 of 7 properties. Click a column heading to sort. "Not stated" means the official website doesn't say, so we haven't assumed anything.
| Property | In-room open-air bath | Private baths | Fee | Booking | Water | Tattoo (private) | Compare prices | Rakuten Travel (lowest rate) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Breezbay Shuzenji Hotelブリーズベイ修善寺ホテル | Not stated | Yes | Free | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | from ¥6,400PR |
| Goyokan五葉館 | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Free-flowing | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | from ¥20,350PR |
| Kikuya湯回廊 菊屋 | Some rooms | 4 baths | Free | Not stated | Free-flowing | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | from ¥20,350PR |
| Mizu-no-sato Maru-kyu Hotel瑞の里 ○久旅館 | Not stated | 1 bath | Not stated | Book a slot | Free-flowing | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | from ¥19,250PR |
| Sora Togetuso Kinryu宙SORA渡月荘金龍 | Not stated | Yes | 2,000 | On arrival | Not stated | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | from ¥16,500PR |
| Kizuna本格会席と源泉の湯 伊豆修善寺 絆+ | Some rooms | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Free-flowing | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | |
| Yagyu-no-Sho柳生の庄 | Some rooms | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Agoda · Trip.com · Booking.com | Rakuten TravelPR |
PR Rakuten Travel prices are Rakuten's lowest-rate estimates per room per night for the cheapest plan (which may be for one guest without meals), including tax and service charge, as of . Rooms with their own bath usually cost more. Supported by Rakuten Developers
Compare-price links go to Agoda, Trip.com, Booking.com and Rakuten Travel. We may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you; it never affects which facts we show. Details.
How do I get to Shuzenji?
Take the Shinkansen to Mishima and the Izu-Hakone Railway to Shuzenji Station (about 35 minutes), then a short bus or taxi ride into the village. Some Odoriko services run direct from Tokyo.
Tips for a private soak in Shuzenji
- The village is about 10 minutes by bus from Shuzenji Station; many ryokan offer pick-ups.
- Autumn leaves around the bamboo path peak in late November.
Shuzenji for a traditional private-onsen stay
Shuzenji's riverside ryokan pair classic tatami rooms with private open-air baths, and several have garden family baths. It suits travellers who want a slower, more traditional night than Atami. See other Shizuoka onsen and onsen near Tokyo.
Related private onsen guides
Frequently asked questions
How do I get to Shuzenji Onsen?
By train to Shuzenji Station on the Izu-Hakone Railway (via Mishima), then a short bus ride. Some Odoriko trains run direct from Tokyo.
Is Shuzenji walkable?
Yes, the village is small enough to walk end to end, about 10 minutes by bus from the station.
Is Shuzenji good for couples?
Yes, many ryokan have private open-air baths or family baths.
Which ryokan in Shuzenji have a private open-air bath in the room?
Of the properties we checked, 3 sell rooms with their own open-air bath, including Kikuya, Kizuna and Yagyu-no-Sho.
Which ryokan in Shuzenji have private kashikiri baths?
5 properties mention private (kashikiri) baths, for example Kikuya, Mizu-no-sato Maru-kyu Hotel, Breezbay Shuzenji Hotel, Sora Togetuso Kinryu and Goyokan. 2 of them say the baths are free for guests.
How do you check the facts for Shuzenji?
We read each property's official website (or official onsen-town listing) and record only what it states, with a link to the page. Anything not stated is shown as not confirmed. The Shuzenji listings were last checked on 18 October 2026.
More onsen towns nearby
West Izu (Toi, Heda & Dogashima) · Ito · Atami · Hakone
Last verified 18 October 2026. Facts come from each property's official website; see how we verify.
