Ryuokyo gorge on the Kinugawa River

Private onsen in Nikko & Kinugawa: ryokan with in-room and kashikiri baths

Nikko and Kinugawa combine Japan's most ornate shrine complex with a riverside onsen resort, all within about two hours of Tokyo.

9 properties verified6 with in-room open-air bath6 with private (kashikiri) baths1 with free private baths

Ryuokyo gorge on the Kinugawa River. Photo: Ray Swi-hymn from Sijhih-Taipei, Taiwan, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons.

PR This page contains affiliate links, including Rakuten Travel. How we earn money

Which ryokan in Nikko & Kinugawa have a private onsen?

We have verified 9 properties in Nikko & Kinugawa, Tochigi, where you can bathe privately. Of these, 6 sell rooms with their own open-air bath and 6 have private kashikiri baths, 1 free for guests. Notable options include Hotel New Ohruri, Asaya Hotel and Hotel Casual Euro. Facts come from official websites, last checked 17 October 2026.

Last verified · How we verify · Open data

Kinugawa Onsen lines the gorge of the Kinu river with large hotels and ryokan, while the Nikko side adds the Toshogu shrine, Lake Chuzenji and the Kegon Falls. Further up the valley, Kawaji and Okukinu have smaller, quieter inns.

Many Kinugawa properties have rooms with their own open-air bath overlooking the gorge, and private family baths are common at the mid-sized ryokan.

What our verified data shows for private onsen in Nikko & Kinugawa

We have checked the official websites of 9 properties in Nikko & Kinugawa. 6 of them (about 67%) sell rooms with a private open-air bath. 6 have private kashikiri baths; 1 says they are free for guests and 3 charge a fee. Where a fee is stated, it ranges from ¥1,500 to ¥3,500. For booking, 1 takes advance reservations and 1 is first-come, first-served; the rest don't say. 3 mention free-flowing (kakenagashi) spring water. None explicitly state that tattoos are allowed, while 2 say tattoos are not allowed in the shared baths.

FeaturePropertiesExamples
Rooms with a private open-air bath6Oku No In Hotel Toku Kawa, Asaya Hotel and Hotel Casual Euro
Private kashikiri baths6Hotel New Ohruri, Oku No In Hotel Toku Kawa and Asaya Hotel
Free private baths1Hotel New Ohruri
Paid private baths3Hotel Casual Euro, Nikko Hoshi No Yado and Nikko Kanaya Hotel
Free-flowing spring water3Asaya Hotel, Hotel Casual Euro and Hotel Hana Iori
Cover rule for tattoos mentioned1Oku Nikko Hotel Shiki Sai
Children welcome1Oku No In Hotel Toku Kawa

Notable properties in Nikko & Kinugawa

Counts come from each property's official website; anything not stated is left out. Policies change, so confirm before booking.

Compare 9 ryokan with private baths in Nikko & Kinugawa

Showing 9 of 9 properties. Click a column heading to sort. "Not stated" means the official website doesn't say, so we haven't assumed anything.

PropertyIn-room open-air bathPrivate bathsFeeBookingWaterTattoo (private)Compare pricesRakuten Travel (lowest rate)
Asaya HotelあさやホテルSome roomsYesNot statedNot statedFree-flowingNot statedAgoda · Trip.com · Booking.comfrom ¥23,100PR
Hotel Casual EuroホテルカジュアルユーロSome roomsYes3,500Not statedFree-flowingNot statedAgoda · Trip.com · Booking.comfrom ¥7,850PR
Hotel New Ohruriホテル ニューおおるりNot stated7 bathsFreeNot statedNot statedNot statedAgoda · Trip.com · Booking.comRakuten TravelPR
Nikko Hoshi No Yado日光星の宿Not statedYes1,500Book a slotNot statedNot statedAgoda · Trip.com · Booking.comfrom ¥19,250PR
Nikko Kanaya Hotel日光金谷ホテルNot statedYes2,000Not statedNot statedNot statedAgoda · Trip.com · Booking.comfrom ¥17,500PR
Oku No In Hotel Toku Kawa奥の院ほてるとく川Some rooms2 bathsNot statedFirst comeNot statedNot statedAgoda · Trip.com · Booking.comfrom ¥29,150PR
Hotel Hana Ioriホテル花庵Some roomsNot statedNot statedNot statedFree-flowingNot statedAgoda · Trip.com · Booking.comfrom ¥25,000PR
Kozuchi No Yado Tsurukame Daikichi小槌の宿 鶴亀大吉Some roomsNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedAgoda · Trip.com · Booking.comfrom ¥14,300PR
Oku Nikko Hotel Shiki Sai奥日光ホテル四季彩Some roomsNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedAgoda · Trip.com · Booking.comfrom ¥15,400PR

PR Rakuten Travel prices are Rakuten's lowest-rate estimates per room per night for the cheapest plan (which may be for one guest without meals), including tax and service charge, as of . Rooms with their own bath usually cost more. Supported by Rakuten Developers

Compare-price links go to Agoda, Trip.com, Booking.com and Rakuten Travel. We may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you; it never affects which facts we show. Details.

How do I get to Nikko & Kinugawa?

Tobu limited express trains from Asakusa reach Kinugawa-Onsen in about 2 hours and Tobu-Nikko in about 1 hour 50 minutes. There are also through trains from Shinjuku.

Tips for a private soak in Nikko & Kinugawa

Kinugawa vs Nikko for a private bath

Kinugawa has far more ryokan with private baths, many with in-room open-air baths over the gorge; Nikko town is closer to the shrines. Trains connect them in about 30 minutes. See onsen near Tokyo and onsen near Narita.

Related private onsen guides

Frequently asked questions

Should I stay in Nikko or Kinugawa?

Kinugawa has far more onsen inns with private baths; Nikko town is closer to the shrines. They are about 30 minutes apart by train.

How far is Kinugawa from Tokyo?

About 2 hours from Asakusa on a Tobu limited express.

Can I see Nikko's shrines and stay in Kinugawa?

Yes, visit Toshogu early and check in at Kinugawa in the afternoon.

Which ryokan in Nikko & Kinugawa have a private open-air bath in the room?

Of the properties we checked, 6 sell rooms with their own open-air bath, including Hotel Casual Euro, Oku No In Hotel Toku Kawa, Hotel Hana Iori, Asaya Hotel and Oku Nikko Hotel Shiki Sai.

Which ryokan in Nikko & Kinugawa have private kashikiri baths?

6 properties mention private (kashikiri) baths, for example Hotel Casual Euro, Oku No In Hotel Toku Kawa, Asaya Hotel, Hotel New Ohruri and Nikko Hoshi No Yado. 1 of them say the baths are free for guests.

How do you check the facts for Nikko & Kinugawa?

We read each property's official website (or official onsen-town listing) and record only what it states, with a link to the page. Anything not stated is shown as not confirmed. The Nikko & Kinugawa listings were last checked on 18 October 2026.

More onsen towns nearby

Kusatsu · Lake Kawaguchiko · Hakone · Atami

Last verified 18 October 2026. Facts come from each property's official website; see how we verify.