PR This page contains affiliate links, including Rakuten Travel. How we earn money
Shinmeikan 旅館 新明館
Kurokawa, Kumamoto · Private-bath facts checked on the official website: shinmeikan.jp ↗ · last verified 17 October 2026
Does Shinmeikan have a private onsen?
Yes. Shinmeikan in Kurokawa has private (kashikiri) baths that one group at a time can lock and use. The website lists a fee of ¥1500. Private-bath slots are booked at the property. It does not state a tattoo policy. Anything a website does not state is marked not confirmed. Checked on its official website on 17 October 2026.
Last verified · How we verify · Open data
What private baths does Shinmeikan have?
| In-room open-air bath | Not confirmed |
|---|---|
| Private (kashikiri) baths | Yes source ↗ |
| Private bath fee | Paid (¥1500) source ↗ |
| How to use the private bath | Book a time slot source ↗ |
| Spring water | Not confirmed |
| Tattoos: private baths | Not confirmed |
| Tattoos: shared baths | Not confirmed |
| Children | Not confirmed |
| In-room dining | Not confirmed |
| Day-use private bath | Not confirmed |
Compare prices
PR Rakuten Travel affiliate link
Shinmeikan on Rakuten Travel

- From ¥23,100 per room per night: Rakuten's lowest-rate estimate for its cheapest plan (which may be for one guest without meals), including tax and service charge (as of )
- Guest rating 4.69 out of 5 from 380 reviews on Rakuten Travel
See plans and prices on Rakuten Travel Read reviews
Prices change daily, and rooms with their own bath usually cost more than the lowest rate. Rakuten Travel is a Japanese-language site.
Compare-price links go to Agoda, Trip.com, Booking.com and Rakuten Travel. We may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you; it never affects which facts we show. Details.
About Shinmeikan
Shinmeikan, written 旅館 新明館 in Japanese, is a ryokan in Kurokawa, in the Kurokawa area. Below we've pulled together what its own website says about private bathing: in-room baths, private family baths, the water and the tattoo rules.
There are private (kashikiri) baths that one group at a time can lock and use, and the website lists a charge (¥1500). Slots are booked, so ask for a time at check-in. We found no mention of rooms with their own open-air bath, so the private bath is the way to bathe alone here.
The website doesn't state a tattoo policy. If that matters to you, email the property before booking.
Anything marked 'not confirmed' below, such as in-room baths, the water source and tattoo rules for private baths, wasn't stated on the pages we checked. That doesn't mean the answer is no, only that we haven't assumed one. We checked the official website on 17 October 2026. Rules and fees change, so confirm with the property, and use the buttons above to compare the same room across booking sites, including taxes and cancellation terms.
The Kurokawa area

Day trips around Kurokawa
Planning a day out? Browse Kurokawa tours and passes on Klook.